Dropping Your Bad Baggage

Salam Alaykum Wa Rahmatullah wa barakatuhu
For some time I could feel my iman was quite low. like most Muslims, sometimes my iman is high Masha Allah, other times its low and I struggle to raise it up Astagfirullah.
Today I got a good dose of iman booster Alhamdulillah after attending the peace and unity convention.

A statement one of the scholars made reminded me about how I needed to drop some bad baggage weighing me down, in order to raise my iman back up. Our sins are like bad unwanted baggage weighing us down, diminishing our iman and threatening the hereafter.

I thought to myself how will you drop this specific baggage and I remembered few years ago during Ramadan, I made a list of what my biggest sins to me were, the ones I was conscious of and struggled with. And I told myself Insha Allah I am determined to stop doing so and so and do so and so instead, seeking Allah’s help. Alhamdulillah Ramadan is usually a time many of us experience high iman and a good time to start some good deeds and stop some bad deeds.

Looking back I must say Alhamdulillah, sometimes we think leaving it is so hard or our family and friends will protest or everyone does it, thinking about other reasons and telling ourselves nonsense, justifying it, and continue. Sometimes I tell myself, well am going to start doing so and so when I get married, but sincerely this is us following our nafs.

Allah SWT does not change the condition of a people until they change it themselves.

And I thought to myself it’s time to drop another baggage. We are constantly picking and dropping baggage, what we pick and drop is really important and we have to be watchful of it.

So if you are like me striving and struggling to get better, below is a few tips to help:
• Make a list
• Repent and seek the forgiveness of Allah
• Be determined never to go back to it
• Have faith that Allah SWT will make it easy for you
• Read the Quran, hadith, beneficial books, magazines etc
• Chose good company: It is better to be alone, than be in the company of bad people, and it is better to be in the company of good people than to be alone.

Ma salam

Leave a Reply

